The Four Elements

The four elements are connected to many ancient cultures and healing modalities ranging from Astrology and Ayurveda Medicine to Feng Shui. Theses elements are in direct connection to how we experience our inner and outer world on a physical and spiritual level. Each element holds a special energy that we can access at any time to ground when we need it, to express emotions and be in flow, to breath in life and to feel heat that can motivate us into taking action.


The element of earth is the element that grounds us and keeps us present. When we feel grounded, we’re relaxed and calm. In astrology, the earth signs are, Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. People born in these signs tend to be stable, hard working and reliable. They get things done!  The earth connects us to our bodies to help be in tune with our physical needs throughout the day. Being “grounded” is what gives us stability so we can endure challenges and provides us with the strength we need during these times of change. Grounding is simple and easy to do. It’s a technique that is often used in meditation, there are also other simple ways to do it. In meditation you sit with your feet on the ground and visualize that you have roots coming out of your feet that go deep into the earth. Another more powerful way is to stand barefoot on a sandy beach or walk slowly along the shore with complete awareness. Or, you can also just stand barefoot on the ground, when your bare feet touch the earth, you feel more connected and emotionally stable. Now that summer has fully arrived you can try some of these techniques this week and see how it feels. When we’re connected to nature our overall health is so much better.


Water is the element that is in tune with our emotions and desires that continuously change throughout the day. When we feel overly emotional or sensitive, we create tears which gives us a release that comes from the water that we hold in our body. In astrology, the water signs are, Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. People born in these signs may seem calm and collected on the outside, but inside their emotions are in constant movement and change. Our body is almost 70% water and the earth is about the same, connecting us from the surface of what represents emotional release, intuition, and inner reflection. Emotions can run deep like the ocean, swirling around and sometimes making us feel overwhelmed and anxious. But, when we allow our emotions to ebb and flow, we’re able to be in touch with them and express ourselves in a way that is healthy and healing. Water is also associated with fertility – without access to water, there wouldn’t be plants or flowers, so it’s essential to all living things for survival and to be born. It has a cleansing power both physically and emotionally that is mystical and spiritual that we rely on inside and out. So, you can see just how much water is important to the flow of life. 


Haiku is often referred to as “one breath poetry” because it is such a short and brief form of poetry. It is known for reciting it between the in-breath and the out-breath. Air is the breath of life. It’s the first thing we do when we come into the world and the last thing we do when we exit. Without it we wouldn’t be alive. In astrology, the air signs are, Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. People born in these signs are thinkers, they are always on the move and can change as fast as the wind blows in different directions. Since air is invisible and we can’t touch it or hold onto it, so it has a mysterious quality to it. The air in the atmosphere is constantly changing as it swirls, moves and changes from the wind. Because we can’t see the air that we breathe, we often don’t associate it with a colour, but pale yellow and white are connected to the spiritual energy of the air that we often don’t see. It carries a message that the ancient Greeks, Chinese and the Romans believed in when they would listen to the wind and pay attention to what direction it was coming from. This is where the saying “the winds have changed” came from. The winds certainly are changing in the world. I’m still holding strong to the belief that things will get better and we will come out of this stronger and wiser than before. 


The fire element is considered to be the first element that was born when the universe was created. Fire provides heat and light, but cannot exist on its own. It represents, courage, strength, passion and leadership In astrology, the fire signs are, Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. People born in these signs are creative and dramatic that light up any room they enter. Over the past couple of years I have learned about Solar Flares and the significance of them regarding how our energy is rising, shifting and ascending. They are  large explosions from the surface of the sun that emit intense bursts of electromagnetic radiation which might sound somewhat unsettling but they bring light the lifts us up. The intensity when this happens can also give us what is called ascension symptoms. There have been days over the past couple of years when I felt so exhausted, ringing in my ears and not able to sleep at night. When I learned about the solar flares and the importance they hold to our growth, it made more sense. We are living in times of rapid change and transformation and the sun is giving us the support to keep moving forward to the light.  It’s giving us the opportunity to work together in harmony to make the world a better place. 

Enjoy a grounding Haiku Meditation. 🙂

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *